Taxes for Cybersecurity

The federal government is working overtime to insert itself into a position of control of the Internet. The latest installment is a bill being introduced by Senator Robert Menendez (R-NJ). “The bipartisan Cybersecurity Enhancement Act would fund more cybersecurity research, awareness and education”, he says in a new press release.

In my opinion, that sucking sound we hear is our tax dollars going to put the latest victim of the Wiki-Leaks fiasco in charge of Internet security.
Furthermore, I’m worried about the prospect of having a government-controlled “kill switch” on the Internet. I know the stated purpose is security. Isn’t is always? But as a blogger, I consider net a primary medium in which to exercise my free speech rights. Franky, I think the powers-that-be are just worried about the discourse in which we are freely engaged.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

What do you think? Why?