The Obama Economy

I’m not too impressed with the Obama economy. The company that I work for has (apparently) enough cash to pay me until the end of February. I have been laid off twice in the last quarter. Though I have been called back, both times, the rest of the engineering department has not. My current task is to inventory the technical assets, in preparation of closing the doors. There is a financing opportunity in the works, but it looks like a long shot to me.

I wouldn’t feel so bad about it if I could point to any fault on my part. But honestly, I have come through with flying colors on each and every engineering assignment. The current demise is just not my fault. We have working prototype hardware, but no viable business plan. In better times, the fact that the technology (I helped to develop) blows the doors off of the competition might have been enough to get new investors interested. But not in this environment.

What has the Obama machine targeted? Massive increases in staffing of government jobs. Do those help my situation? No they just add to the drain on the private sector. Do the new regulations written and or enforced by all those public sector employees help? No, they just make investors wait for a more opportune time. There is a huge stockpile of idle investment cash in the economy, but no investor in his right mind will risk it in the current government-controlled environment. 2012 can’t come soon enough for me!

The saving grace for me comes from a Bible verse that has been on my mind lately:  I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.  Psalms 27:13 NIV

Tags: , , , , , ,

What do you think? Why?

