Blessing and Cursing

The LORD had said to Abram, “Leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land I will show you.
“I will make you into a great nation and I will bless you; I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing.
I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse; and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you.

I believe most American Christians take this passage from the beginning of Genesis 12 to heart.  This promise to Abram is given nearly at the outset in the Scriptures, even before God changes the patriarch’s name to Abraham. (In case you were wondering, Abram means “noble father” and Abraham means “father of many nations”.)  The overarching message of the Bible leads inexorably from this promise to the beginning of fulfillment of the last phrase when God took on human form at Bethlehem.

Just as God’s promise of blessing through Abraham’s line is being fulfilled by the work of the Savior, for those who call on Him,  so the promise of blessing and cursing at the beginning of the third verse stands.  I don’t want my country to come down on the side of those who are cursing Israel.  Given where the political leadership has been taking us, we need all the blessing we can get.

Like most everyone, I have seen the video of those on the Mavi Marmara attacking the boarding IDF soldiers.  It’s hard to see how anyone would dispute the IDF soldiers claims of self defense.  The right to keep someone else from beating you to death is well established in natural law.  I don’t care what the U.N. says.

On a related note, I hear that statistically, the Jewish American community is a disproportionately large contributor to the Democrat party.   I pray they will wake up to the fact that we American Christians who believe the passage from Genesis 12 that I cited above are not, by and large, on the left.  In practice, we find liberals going after Christians the same way they are going after Israel right now.  If I may generalize, those on the left are not the ones attempting to stand up for Jews.  It might be time for Jewish Americans to re-evaluate who their friends really are.

What do you think? Why?

