“Don’t worry, it’s not going to happen.”

“Don’t worry, it’s not going to happen.”  That’s what the guys at work have been telling me about H.R 3200 / 3962.   But, there it is, through the House.   While I was attending the Iowa Tea Party Statewide Convention to network with others of semi-like mind, the Democratic members of the House stayed for the weekend and exercised their majority.

If I read the polls correctly,  those Democratic representatives are so sure that they know best, the opinions of the majority of you just don’t matter.  It’s not like I have personally been asleep at the switch;  my own representative Leonard Boswell has been certain that he knows better than I for a long time.  When I call his office or send an email (frequently),  I always get a cordial explanation of why it is imperative that he do exactly the opposite of what I wanted.  Isn’t it great to be well represented?  I met some at the Tea Party Convention who want to run for Boswell’s seat.  I will pick one, and work tirelessly for his campaign.

I think I heard an elated victory speech from Speaker Pelosi.   Seems she gushed there was a cap on costs, but no cap on benefits.  I wonder if I could interest her in buying my perpetual motion machine design to solve the energy problem?

The system of checks and balances instituted by our wise founders only prevents the government from metastasizing  if  “We the People” don’t fill the Congress with Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum.  Those polls are logically troublesome.  It seems like those elected should more closely represent the desires of those who elected them.  Perhaps the problem was too many votes cast against George Bush, instead of for the real desires of the people casting the vote.  Hmm.

Tags: , , , , ,

What do you think? Why?

